Compare

Taskly vs Thumbtack.

A directory where professionals pay for customer leads, set their own lead prices and quote you separately for the work. Taskly is an open marketplace for the Greater Toronto Area: you describe a task, Taskers send fixed-price offers, and the payment is held until the job is done.

Every claim about Thumbtack below is taken from their own published pages and links to the page it came from. Last checked October 1, 2026. Where they publish nothing, the row says Not verified rather than guessing.

At a glance

The two models, row by row

Each row names what is being compared and answers it for both platforms. A row marked “Not verified” means Thumbtack does not publish it on the pages we read — not that the answer is no.

Marketplace model

What kind of platform is it?

Taskly

An open marketplace: you describe the task, Taskers make offers on it

Thumbtack

Customers describe a job; professionals pay for the lead and respond

Thumbtack Help — paying for leads

Matching

How are the two sides brought together?

Taskly

Your posted task is shown to Taskers who work in that category

Thumbtack

Two kinds of lead: matched leads a pro pays for automatically, and "Opportunities" where the pro reaches out first

Thumbtack Help — paying for leads

Choosing who does it

Who picks, and on what?

Taskly

You choose from the offers you receive, each with a price attached

Thumbtack

You receive responses from pros who chose to pay for your job, and pick from them

Thumbtack Help — paying for leads

Pricing structure

Hourly, fixed, quoted or set rate?

Taskly

A fixed price per task, agreed before the work starts

Thumbtack

Pros set their own lead prices, and a higher price makes them more competitive for those leads

Thumbtack Help — setting lead prices

What the customer pays the platform

Any fee on top of the work?

Taskly

A platform fee shown on the payment screen before you pay

Thumbtack

Not verified

The pages read describe what pros pay, not a customer-side platform fee.

What the worker pays the platform

Commission, lead fee or subscription?

Taskly

A commission on a completed job. Taskers never pay to see or answer a task

Thumbtack

Pros pay per lead. For a matched lead the fee applies automatically; for an Opportunity the pro "only pay[s] the price shown if the customer responds"

Thumbtack Help — paying for leads

Payment handling

Who holds the money, and when does it move?

Taskly

Taskly holds the payment and releases it to the Tasker once the job is confirmed done

Thumbtack

Not verified

The pages read do not describe Thumbtack holding payment for the work itself.

If something goes wrong

What recourse is published?

Taskly

A dispute is raised on Taskly and the held funds stay frozen while it is reviewed

Thumbtack

Not verified

No protection or dispute mechanism was found on the pages read.

What you can get done

How broad is the catalogue?

Taskly

131 categories, from household work to lessons, events and digital tasks

Thumbtack

Local services across many trades

Thumbtack for professionals

Where it operates

Which markets, and how relevant to the GTA?

Taskly

The Greater Toronto Area

Thumbtack

Not verified

Canadian coverage is not stated on the pages read.

Workflow

What actually happens, start to finish

The same job, run through each platform.

Taskly

  1. 1Describe the task in your own words — type it, say it, or send a photo.
  2. 2Taskers who work in that category see it and send offers, each with a fixed price.
  3. 3You pick an offer. The payment is held by Taskly, not sent to the Tasker.
  4. 4The Tasker does the job and you confirm it is done.
  5. 5Taskly releases the payment, and the two of you can review each other.

Thumbtack

  1. 1Describe the job you need done.
  2. 2Professionals pay a lead price to reach you — automatically for a matched lead, or only if you reply to an Opportunity.
  3. 3You hear from the pros who chose to pay, and pick one.
  4. 4Price and payment for the work itself are arranged with that pro.(not verified)

Money

How the price is set, and who pays the platform

Two separate questions, and the platforms answer them differently.

Pricing structure

Hourly, fixed, quoted or set rate?

Taskly

A fixed price per task, agreed before the work starts

Thumbtack

Pros set their own lead prices, and a higher price makes them more competitive for those leads

Thumbtack Help — setting lead prices

What the customer pays the platform

Any fee on top of the work?

Taskly

A platform fee shown on the payment screen before you pay

Thumbtack

Not verified

The pages read describe what pros pay, not a customer-side platform fee.

What the worker pays the platform

Commission, lead fee or subscription?

Taskly

A commission on a completed job. Taskers never pay to see or answer a task

Thumbtack

Pros pay per lead. For a matched lead the fee applies automatically; for an Opportunity the pro "only pay[s] the price shown if the customer responds"

Thumbtack Help — paying for leads

Payment

Who holds the money, and what happens if it goes wrong

Only what each platform documents. A blank here would be the most misleading thing on the page, so an unverified mechanism is labelled as one.

Payment handling

Who holds the money, and when does it move?

Taskly

Taskly holds the payment and releases it to the Tasker once the job is confirmed done

Thumbtack

Not verified

The pages read do not describe Thumbtack holding payment for the work itself.

If something goes wrong

What recourse is published?

Taskly

A dispute is raised on Taskly and the held funds stay frozen while it is reviewed

Thumbtack

Not verified

No protection or dispute mechanism was found on the pages read.

Trust

What each platform says it checks

Quoted, not summarised. Different platforms check different things and describe them in their own words; none of this should be read as a guarantee about an individual.

Coverage

Where the work happens

Taskly is a Greater Toronto Area marketplace. Coverage is the dimension most likely to change, so it carries the check date above.

What you can get done

How broad is the catalogue?

Taskly

131 categories, from household work to lessons, events and digital tasks

Thumbtack

Local services across many trades

Thumbtack for professionals

Where it operates

Which markets, and how relevant to the GTA?

Taskly

The Greater Toronto Area

Thumbtack

Not verified

Canadian coverage is not stated on the pages read.

Situations

Which one fits what you are trying to do

Not a verdict — a description of what each platform is shaped for, drawn from the rows above.

You want several quotes to compare

Both work this way: Thumbtack pros respond to your job, Taskly Taskers make offers on it.

You care how the worker is charged

Thumbtack pros pay per lead, set by themselves; Taskly charges a commission only once a job is paid.

You want the money held until the job is done

Taskly holds it. Nothing on the Thumbtack pages read describes holding payment for the work.

Taskly

What Taskly's model actually is

Described directly, without reference to anyone else.

You describe the task, not a service code

You write it, say it, or photograph it. There is no list to pick from first, which is why the catalogue runs to 131 categories rather than a fixed menu.

The price is fixed before anyone starts

Taskers send offers on your task. Each one is a price for the whole job, agreed before the work begins, with a platform fee shown on the payment screen.

Taskly holds the payment

The money is held from the moment you accept an offer and is released to the Tasker once you confirm the job is done. A dispute freezes it while it is reviewed.

Taskers pay only when they are paid

There is no fee to see a task, answer it, or make an offer. Taskly takes a commission on a completed job.

Questions

Questions people ask about Taskly and Thumbtack

Answered from the sourced rows above. No FAQ markup — that rich result was retired, and the answers are the point.

Do professionals pay for leads on Thumbtack?

Yes. Thumbtack’s help pages describe pros paying per lead and setting their own lead prices. There are two kinds: matched leads, paid for automatically, and Opportunities, where the pro only pays the price shown if the customer responds.

Is there a membership fee on Thumbtack?

Thumbtack states there is no charge to join, no annual fees and no membership fees. The cost to a pro is the leads themselves, controlled by the lead price they set and a weekly budget.

Who holds the money?

On Taskly, Taskly does — the payment is held and released once the job is confirmed done. The Thumbtack pages we read describe how pros pay for leads, not a platform holding payment for the work, so we list that as not verified rather than assuming either way.

What does it cost a worker to answer a job?

On Thumbtack, the lead price the pro has set. On Taskly, nothing: a Tasker can read a task and make an offer at no cost, and Taskly takes a commission only when a job is completed and paid.

Sources

Where these facts came from

Each is a page published by Thumbtack, read on the date shown. Platforms change their terms; check the source before relying on a figure.

Taskly’s own rows describe shipped behaviour and were checked on the same date. Taskly makes no insurance, background-check or guarantee claim about any Tasker.